Mobilizing Efforts to Work for the Three Pillars of ASEAN in an Integrated Manner (31/07/2012)
All government agencies responsible for the three pillars of ASEAN have been instructed to set priorities for their operations and work together in an integrated manner.

The instruction was given by Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra at the recent workshop to prepare government agencies ahead of the ASEAN Community 2015.

The Cabinet, during its meeting on 30 July 2012, acknowledged a report on results of the workshop, prepared by the Office of the National Economic and Social Development Board. The report said that eight ministries are involved with the ASEAN Economic Community. They include the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Tourism and Sports, the Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives, the Ministry of Transport, the Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, the Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Energy, and the Ministry of Industry.

They called for urgent measures to improve production, reduce production costs, encourage farmers to adjust themselves to the use of agricultural technology, accelerate transport links to neighboring countries, promote local logistics, and support entrepreneurs for the manufacturing of alternative energy technological equipment.

According to the report, seven ministries are involved with the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. They include the Ministry of Social Development and Human Security, the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, the Ministry of Labor, the Ministry of Culture, the Ministry of Science and Technology, the Ministry of Education, and the Ministry of Public Health.

Among urgent issues proposed by these ministries were calls to increase the efficiency of labor, develop a database for both formal and informal labor sectors, develop curriculums to accommodate more foreign students, produce personnel in response to the demand of the labor market, promote ASEAN cooperation in cross-border natural resource and environmental management, and apply science, technology, and innovation to cope with climate change and the green economy.

As for the ASEAN Political-Security Community, there are four ministries involved: the Ministry of Defense, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Interior, and the Ministry of Justice. They are in favor of the concept of setting up an ASEAN force and have called for the promotion of better understanding about the political systems of ASEAN countries and guidelines for border management.

The agencies under the supervision of the Prime Minister include the Prime Minister’s Office, the Office of the National Research Council of Thailand, and the Royal Thai Police. Urgent issues proposed at the workshop were the restructuring of the Prime Minister’s Office into the country’s strategic agencies and the formulation of a master plan for the mobilization of the ASEAN Community.

The Prime Minister assigned Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, Kittiratt Na-Ranong, to hold a workshop with five private organizations, namely the Board of Trade of Thailand, the Federation of Thai Industries, the Thai Bankers Association, the Tourism Council of Thailand, and the Federation of Thai Capital Market Organizations.

Share this article Share

Related stories in this category
Developing Thailand into an ASEAN Cultural Center
Thailand and Brunei Darussalam Reaffirm Their Regional Cooperation
Seventh Lower Mekong Initiative Regional Working Group Meeting in Bangkok
Developing Thai Education and Workforce for ASEAN
New Thailand’s Tourism Campaign at ASEAN Tourism Forum 2015


Foreign Office, The Government Public Relations Department, Office of the Prime Minister
9 Rama VI Road, Soi 30, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Tel: (+66-2) 618-2323 ext. 1700, 1707    Fax : (+66-2) 618-2358    E-mail :