Special Economic Zones in the Deep South

May 22, 2021

Secretary-General of the Southern Border Provinces Administrative Center Rear Admiral Somkiat Pholprayoon on 21 May 2021 attended a meeting of the Policy Committee of the Special Economic Zones (SEZs).

The committee, chaired by Prime Minister and Defense Minister General Prayut Chan-o-cha, met via video conference to follow up on progress of the implementation of Thailands special economic zones.

In 2015, the Government announced the commitment to establish the first phase of SEZs which covers five border areas in the provinces of Tak, Mukdahan, Sa Kaeo, Trat, and Songkhla. Later, in the second phase, SEZs have been set up in another five provinces: Chiang Rai, Kanchanaburi, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, and Narathiwat.

Among the 10 provinces, Songkhla and Narathiwat are in the deep South and have great potential for investment. The establishment of the two special economic zones are expected to help stimulate the local economy, provide more job opportunities and generate more income for local residents.

The Songkhla Special Economic Zone is located in Sadao district, which covers four subdistricts: Sadao, Samnak Kham, Samnak Taeo, and Padang Besar. There are two customs houses: Sadao and Padang Besar.

The Narathiwat Special Economic Zone covers five districts, namely Yi-ngo, Mueang Narathiwat, Su-ngai Kolok, Tak Bai, and Waeng.

The meeting of the Policy Committee of SEZs on 21 May 2021 discussed the use of an area in the Songkhla Special Economic Zone for the construction of a road linking the Songkhla Industrial Estate Project with the second Sadao Border Checkpoint.




« Back